How Your Government Works

The Township of Byram is chartered under the "Faulkner Act" (OMCL) Council-Manager plan. (NJSA 40:69A-81 et. seq.)

Byram Township has a Mayor and 4 Council Members. The Mayor and all Council Members are elected at-large in Non-Partisan elections for 4-year staggered terms. Elected Officials enter office on January 1 following the Election Year.

The Town Council passes ordinances and resolutions. It maintains the Administrative Code. The Council  appoints the Township Manager, Municipal Clerk, Tax Assessor and Members of all boards, commissions and authorities.

Legislative / Voting Information

Byram Township is located in Sussex County and is represented in New Jersey's 11th Congressional District.

Please Note: In order to elect your township officials, you must be a registered voter. You can register at the Clerk's Office in the Byram Township Municipal Building.

Where do you vote?

District 1 - Cranberry Lake Fire House
District 2 - Cranberry Lake Fire House
District 3 - C.O. Johnson Field House
District 4 - Municipal Building
District 5 - Municipal Building
District 6 - Public Safety Building, Lee Hill Road